Tags

,

One of the highlights of my summers in California was an annual 4th of July concert by The 91st Division Band (The Band of the Wild West).  Rather than dealing with the swarm at the Crissy Field fireworks in San Francisco, I’d step out in my own back yard in the East Bay to listen to the military band.  The level of musicianship was incredible and the range of styles diverse.  A military concert is a real treat, even for those of us whose normal tastes lean towards the tripped-out psychedelia of the 1960s.

When Mr. B. told me he’d booked the U. S. Navy Cruisers for a Free Fridays concert, the first words out of my mouth were, “Do you know how incredibly talented these musicians are?” 

They were that and more.  A sudden downpour caused a drain at the Plaza to back up and the stage to flood.  The grounds were soggy and lightning darted through the sky.  It looked as if the show would have to be cancelled at the last minute, but as the storm broke the band decided to play.

I hope every person who came to Friday night’s show enjoyed it as much as I did, and I’d like to thank the fine musicians of the Cruisers for such an amazing performance.  If you didn’t get a chance to see the concert, here are some of the photos:

